Two Virginia Tech Architecture alumni have been elevated to the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) for 2020:

Corey Clayborne, FAIA (B.Arch. 2004)

Don Kranbuehl, FAIA (M.Arch. 2000)

AIA Fellows are recognized with the AIA’s highest membership honor for their exceptional work and contributions to architecture and society. Architects who have made significant contributions to the profession and society and who exemplify architectural excellence can become a member of the AIA College of Fellows. Only 3 percent of AIA members have this distinction.

Over the previous four years, a number of other Virginia Tech Architecture alumni were elevated to the AIA College of Fellows:


  • Burt Pinnock, FAIA
  • Nick Vlattas, FAIA


  • Donna Phaneuf, FAIA
  • Robert Steele, FAIA


  • Harry Falconer, FAIA
  • Martin Felsen, FAIA
  • Chuck Swartz, FAIA


  • John Burcher, FAIA
  • Ann Kosmal, FAIA
  • Kirsten Murray, FAIA